Our church was started in March, 1838. Members met in their homes until 1840 when a one-room building was built, which is now the Wisteria Farms subdivision. It had hand-made benches without backs and the services were 2 hours long. In 1904, the one-room building was moved to Commerce Street, the current location of our parking lot. In 1940, the one-room building was moved across the street to our present location. The building was turned around; a vestibule was added to the front and a two-story addition to the back with a parlor and “Upper Room.” In 1942, the gift of a building containing classrooms and kitchen was received from the Althea Baptist Church when they disbanded. These buildings and the old church are no longer a part of our current facilities.
The Methodist Church has had ministers of all ages, from young students to older men and women. They were all accepted with love and understanding. Methodists are known to be warm loving people. John Wesley once said: “Methodists are a peculiar people with strangely warm hearts.”
In the Fall of 2010, our church undertook a “Stepping Forward in Faith” capital campaign and purchased the property located directly behind our present church campus. It included a functioning 7,000 sq. ft. gym, a 1,800 sq. ft. house and carport, a storage barn and 11.5± acres. The house was converted into our present Administrative Office, the carport became our “Serenity Chapel” using the old pews from the church and the fitness center is a fully functional gym with multiple fitness classes and is administered by qualified church members.
Our Sanctuary was renovated with new carpet, fresh paint, new chairs, and updated décor to provide a classic, serene worship experience. We are a growing church and welcome anyone who wants to worship with us.